Sonnet to Orpheus

Text by Rainer Maria Rilke

Translation by Stephen Mitchell

Sonnet to Orpheus, for Mezzo-Soprano and Piano, is a setting of Rilke’s exquisite third poem of the same title, using a wonderful translation by Stephen Mitchell.  The setting is somewhat spare, including brief hand strokes directly on the piano harp, as well as singing over the harp and sounding board.  Duration: 3:20.

Performed by Mezzo-Soprano Hannah Penn and Pianist Stephen Lewis


Sonnet to Orpheus : Score


%d bloggers like this: